Startup valuation model - Free Excel

The valorization of a startup is closer to an art than to a science. In this article, we look at how to value a company, how it fits for a startup and you also find an Excel model of how to value a startup for free download.

Valuation of a company

The model generally used for the valuation of a company is the discounted cash flow method or, in other words, the present value of all future profits of a company.

It sounds complicated but I will try to explain it clearly and simply here.

It all starts with understanding an investor's thinking when making an investment. This reflection is very similar when he/she buys a share, a building or a company, he/she asks the question: "How much money will I receive per year? For a building, it is the sum of the rents per month, all costs and repairs/investments. For a share, it is the dividends more or less the variation in the share price. For a company, in simple terms, it is the profit generated each year.

It must be understood that an investor can invest in several projects and therefore he is considering investing in a company in order to invest in a building or any other possibility. So he wants to know how much he will earn.

The calculation of the company's value is done by looking at the financial results of the last few years and planning for the next 5 to 7 years. We add the benefits and multiply them by a ratio to show that they are not yet there but arrive in the future and hop, we have a valuation.

For a startup, it's unfortunately not that simple.

Startup valuation

Since a startup has very little profit or even a history of profit and the company is planning strong growth, the models used to value a company do not work.

The investor will therefore try to calculate at what value he will be able to sell to know at what amount he must buy now and in bulk at what value.

An investor will think like this: at what value will I be able to sell the company in 4, 5 or 7 years. He/she will look for a way to calculate this by looking at growth plans but also if similar startups have been purchased recently.

If the investor thinks he can sell the company for 50 million in 5 years. It divides this amount by a risk coefficient that can range from 60% to 90% depending on the startup. As a result, he finds the current value after his investment.

Download the Excel template below to try it out for your startup yourself!

Improve the valorisation of your startup

To improve the value of your startup, you must reduce the risk of project failure. Here is a non-exhaustive list:

  • Have a professional, plural and efficient team.
  • Show traction in the form of increased sales, increased website traffic, increased number of press appearances or achievement of key milestones such as creating a product, receiving certification or filing a patent.
  • Use professional and clear documentation
  • check
    Demonstrate professionalism in your administration. For this purpose EZYcount can help you to show professional invoices and accounting in order and well kept. Want to take a look: EZYcount
>

Modèle de valorisation de startup - Excel gratuite

La valorisation d'une startup est plus proche d'un art que d'une science. Dans cet article, nous voyons comment valoriser une entreprise, comment cela s'adapte pour une startup et vous trouvez également un modèle Excel de valorisation d'une startup en téléchargement gratuit.

Valorisation d'une entreprise

Le modèle généralement utilisé pour la valorisation d'une entreprise est la méthode du "discounted cash flow" ou en clair, la valeur actuelle de tous les bénéfices futurs d'une entreprise.

Cela à l'air compliqué mais je vais essayer de l'expliquer clairement et simplement ici.

Tout débute en comprenant la réflexion d'un investisseur lors d'un investissement. Cette réflexion est très similaire quand il/elle achète une action, un immeuble ou une entreprise, Il/elle se pose la question: "Combien d'argent est-ce que je vais recevoir par année?" Pour un immeuble, c'est la somme des loyers mois tous les frais et les réparations/investissements. Pour une action, c'est les dividendes plus ou moins la variation du cours de l'action. Pour une entreprise, en simple, c'est le bénéfice généré chaque année.

Il faut comprendre qu'un investisseur peut investir dans plusieurs projets et donc il évalue investir dans une entreprise face à investir dans un immeuble ou tout autre possibilité. Dès lors, il cherche à savoir combien il va gagner.

Le calcul de la valeur de l'entreprise se fait en regardant les résultats financiers des dernières années et en planifiant les 5 à 7 prochaines années. On addition les bénéfices et on les multiplie par un ratio pour montrer qu'ils ne sont pas encore là mais arrivent dans le futur et hop, on a une valorisation.

Pour une startup, ce n'est malheureusement pas aussi simple.

Valorisation d'une startup

Comme une startup n'a que très peu de bénéfice ou même un historique de bénéfice et que la société planifie une forte croissance, les modèles utilisés pour valoriser une entreprise ne marchent pas.

L'investisseur va donc essayer de calculer à quelle valeur il va pouvoir vendre pour savoir à quelle montant il doit acheter maintenant et en gros à quelle valorisation.

Un investisseur va penser comme ceci: à quelle valeur est-ce que je vais pouvoir vendre la société dans 4, 5 ou 7 ans. Il/elle va chercher une façon de calculer cela en regardant les plans de croissances mais également si des startups similaires ont été achetées récemment.

Si l'investisseur pense qu'il peut revendre la société à 50 millions dans 5 ans. Il divise ce montant par un coefficient de risque qui peut aller de 60% à 90% dépendant de la startup. Il trouve grâce à cela la valeur actuelle après son investissement.

Téléchargez le modèle Excel ci-dessous pour essayer vous-même pour votre startup!

Améliorer la valorisation de sa startup

Pour améliorer la valorisation de sa startup, il faut diminuer le risque d'échec de son projet. Voici une liste non-exhaustive:

  • Avoir une équipe professionnelle, plurielle et efficace.
  • Montrer de la traction sous forme d'augmentation des ventes, augmentation du trafic du site web, augmentation du nombre de parution dans la presse ou alors réalisation d'étapes clés comme la création d'un produit, réceptoin d'une certification ou le dépôt d'un brevet.
  • Utiliser une documentation professionnelle et clair
  • check
    Montrer du professionnalisme dans son administration. Pour cela EZYcount peut t'aider à montrer des factures professionnelles et une comptabilité en ordre et bien tenue. Envie de jeter un oeil: EZYcount
>